Lily Bursting into Song

TM8421 Lily Bursting into Song 12x12 oil on panel

TM8421 Lily Bursting into Song 12×12 oil on panel

When I begin a lily portrait, my first thought is to capture the expressive gesture of the lily. Gesture as in a sense of motion (or emotion). In this painting, the sense of stretching upward toward the light is easily recognized, but as I worked on the image, I sensed that the gesture was also familiar from the concert hall – the soloist, arms lifting, beautiful notes filling the space. From that moment, this lily became a vocalist, at least in my imagination, and she was singing in the new morning. I hope she’s singing for you too! Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Lily Bursting into Song

Leave a Reply

