A Deeper Look

TM8494 A Deeper Look 30x54 oil on panel

TM8494 A Deeper Look 30×54 oil on panel

Some paintings provide a passage into insight. The idea of allowing more of the abstract underpainting to show through in the finished painting was my goal in A Deeper Look. I began the painting in my usual way, but this time I painted the reflections more suggestively. If something interesting started to happen, I let it. As the painting progressed, I realized that I was sensing both the water and the woods – almost independently. The painting was starting to feel more like my experience of the place. It was a thrilling moment. Finishing the painting meant restraining myself from painting too much – only just enough to provide a clue or hint at what I saw. I soon realized that this way of working was more interesting for me, and allowed the mysterious quality of the woods and pond to dominate. A celebration moment. By letting go, the reflection I was painting became more otherworldly. Like seeing through Alice’s looking glass, an alternative reality emerged  – one more interesting than I could have imagined.

Details below.

TM8494 A Deeper Look - detail from upper right with sky and tree trunk reflections

TM8494 A Deeper Look – detail from upper right with sky and tree trunk reflections

TM8494 A Deeper Look - detail from center bottom

TM8494 A Deeper Look – detail from center bottom

TM8494 A Deeper Look - detail showing sky and tree trunk reflections, use of  transparent and semi-transparent paint layers

TM8494 A Deeper Look – detail showing sky and tree trunk reflections, use of transparent and semi-transparent paint layers

 

Leave a Reply

