After Rain

TM8552 After Rain 30x30 oil on panel

TM8552 After Rain 30×30 oil on panel

Last year I spent some time kayaking on the Charles River in Boston and Newton (a delightful experience, which I heartily recommend). I took loads of photos of water lilies and the varieties of vegetation that crowd the river bank. The problem, was what to do with all the information. I tried working up some paintings, but the gorgeous summer afternoon was too “perfect” and just not mysterious enough for my taste. Eventually, I sanded every attempt down. A few weeks ago, I decided to take a new tack. This time I used the crazy and lush tree forms but changed the weather, rain and fog being my favorite weather conditions. After Rain might be a keeper. Details below. What do you think?

TM8552 After Rain - detail from upper right

TM8552 After Rain – detail from upper right

TM8552 After Rain - detail from left of center with loosestrife and golden rod

TM8552 After Rain – detail from left of center with loosestrife and golden rod

TM8552 After Rain - detail from foreground with duckweed and lilies

TM8552 After Rain – detail from foreground with duckweed and lilies

TM8552 After Rain - detail from left side

TM8552 After Rain – detail from left side

2 thoughts on “After Rain

Leave a Reply

